UPDATES

THE ALL NEW MORGAN COUNTY WEBSITE IS IN THE PROCESS OF BEING CONVERTED. PLEASE CHECK BACK FOR DAILY UPDATES.


        QUICK LINKS

COMMUNITY CALENDAR

SHERIFF'S RODEO

SEX OFFENDER

QUEEN PAGENT

INMATE SEARCH

PROJECT LIFESAVER


Like us on FACEBOOK


Office: 256.351.4800

Dispatch: 256.301.1174

Jail: 256.351.4825


 Employee E-Mail 



Pistol Permits

1. Who may obtain a Pistol License?
Title 14 (Section 177) of the Alabama State Code provides that the Sheriff of a county may issue a
qualified or unlimited license to a person residing in the county, and is a suitable person to be licensed.

2. Who may not obtain a pistol license?

There are many people who cannot obtain a pistol license. Most of these are prohibited because of certain state and Federal Laws. All the Laws contained in this question are contained in the Alabama State Code and in the Gun Control Act of 1968. The people who cannot obtain a pistol license are as follows:

1. No person who has been convicted of committing or attempting to commit a crime of violence;
2. No person who is a Drug Addict
or convicted of a drug crime;
3. No person who is a habitual drunkard
or convicted of a DUI in the last 5 years;
4. No person convicted of a felony;
5. No person discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions; No person who has been adjudged by a court as mentally incompetent;
6. No citizen of the United States who has renounced his citizenship
8. No person convicted of the Family Violence Act, even though the charge maybe a misdemeanor;
9. No person illegally or unlawfully in the United States
10. No person who has been convicted of an offense involving firearms;
11. No person who has been convicted of an offense involving explosives
12. No person who is not deemed suitable or proper by the Sheriff’s Department.

3. What are the age requirements to obtain a pistol permit?
It is the policy of the department that a license will not be issued to anyone under the age of 21.

4. May a pistol License be revoked?
Yes, Title 14 (Section 177) of the State Law provides that the Sheriff may revoke a license.

5. Is the license valid in other counties?
Yes, Title 14 (Section 177) of the State Law says the license is valid within all the counties of the state.

6. How can a pistol license be renewed?
Bring this completed application to one our offices.

7. What is the cost of a Pistol Permit?
$20.00

8. Will I be investigated if I make an application to the Morgan County Sheriff’s Department for a pistol License?
Yes, we will make an investigation

1. We will check to see if you have a previous arrest record.
2. You must list three references on your application and give their telephone numbers.
3. We will make whatever investigation that is necessary.




Copyright © 2012 Morgan County Sheriff's Office. All Rights Reserved. 

This page best viewed with Mozilla Firefox or Safari Browsers. Newer versions of IE will not display page properly.